About Us

Founded in 1978, the goal of the Hispanic Center is to provide unmet social services to the Hispanic Community in Greater West Michigan.

Now located in the heart of Roosevelt Park, the largest Latino neighborhood in Grand Rapids, the Hispanic Center is able to directly serve more than 10,000 individuals annually. Not limited to Grand Rapids, we seek to address the needs of Latinos in West Michigan. The staff is largely bilingual and multi-cultural. We understand our Latino neighbors, connect with them, and work to achieve self-sufficiency together. Our mission is to EDUCATE, ADVOCATE, & EMPOWER.

The Hispanic Center of Western Michigan is a non-profit 501(c) (3) community-based organization.

Our Mission

TO EDUCATE, TO ADVOCATE, TO EMPOWER LATINOS IN WEST MICHIGAN

About Us page photo copy

Staff

Image_AboutSupport@2x

ED

Ethnicity
Executive Director
email
T (616) 742-0200 ext
F (616) 742-0205

Evelyn Esparza-Gonzalez headshot

Evelyn Esparza-Gonzalez

Mexican
Director of Finance and Administration
eesparza@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 153
F (616) 742-0205

Daniela Rojas headshot

Daniela Rojas

Costa Rican
Fund Development Coordinator & Communications Manager
drojascortes@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 144
F (616) 742-0205

Trinity Clemens headshot

Trinity Clemens

African & Native American
Director of Programs
tclemens@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0221 ext 146
F (616) 742-0205

Image_AboutSupport@2x

Ricardo Martinez

Mexican-American
Career Development Specialist
rmartinez@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 123
F (616) 742-0205

Ann Marie Rivera headshot

Ann Marie Rivera

Puerto Rican
Career Development Specialist
arivera@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 122
F (616) 742-0205

Image_AboutSupport@2x

Jackee Thompson

Mexican-American
Youth Program Coordinator
jthompson@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 124
F (616) 742-0205

Olga Martinez headshot copy

Olga Martínez

Mexican
Human & Civil Rights Advocate
omartinez@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 112
F (616) 742-0205

Laura Rodriguez headshot

Laura Rodriguez

Mexican-American
Youth Program Coordinator
lrodriguez@hispanic-center.or
T (616) 742-0200 ext 121
F (616) 742-0205

Alejandra Meza headshot

Alejandra Meza

Mexican-American
Community Navigation Specialist
ameza@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 113
F (616) 742-0205

Image_AboutSupport@2x

Daphne Windom

African American
La Escuelita Site Director & Lead Teacher
dwindom@hispanic-center.org

Image_AboutSupport@2x

Tracy Ramirez

Mexican
La Escuelita Teacher Support
tramirez@hispanic-center.org

Image_AboutSupport@2x

Celeny Quintino

Mexican
La Escuelita Assistant Teacher
cquintino@hispanic-center.org

Holly Rea headshot

Holly Rea

Italian-French American
Language Department Manager
hrea@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 131
F (616) 742-0205

Eloy Baez headshot

Eloy Baez-Fernandez

Puerto Rican
Language Services Business Coordinator
ebaez@hispanic-center.org

Griselda Perez headshot

Griselda Perez

Mexican
Interpretations Coordinator
gperez@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 130
F (616) 742-0205

Image_AboutSupport@2x

Alva Favela

Mexican-American
Translations Coordinator
translations@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 131
F (616) 742-0205

Ben Davis headshot

Ben Davis

Guatemalan-American
Assistant to Language Services Department
bdavis@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 130
F (616) 742-0205

Marisol Garcia headshot

Marisol Garcia

Mexican-American
Receptionist
HCWMReceptionist@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200
F (616) 248-0905

Araceli Hurtado headshot

Mexican
Accounting Assistant
HCWMAccounting@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 143
F (616) 742-0205

Board of Directors

  • Cesar Gonzalez, Board Chair - Mercantile Bank of Michigan
  • Carlos Sanchez, Immediate Past Chair - Ferris State University
  • Attah Obande, Treasurer - Spring GR
  • Patrick Lonergan, Trustee - Fifth Third Bank
  • Karla Amaya-Leone, Trustee - Home Sweet Homes
  • Tony Baker, Trustee - Ferris State University
  • Kristin Ekkens, Trustee - Cultural Intelligence Center
  • Susan Ledy, Trustee - Retired
  • Alexis Rangel, Trustee - Grand Valley State University
  • Monica Steimle-App, Trustee - Rockford Construction
  • Roberto Peña, Trustee - Amway
  • Lance Zoerhof, Trustee - Warner Norcross & Judd LLP
  • Jessica Podvin, Trustee - D.K. Weiss Accounting
  • Mario Castillo, Trustee - Transnation Title Agency
HCWM Careers Photo

Careers

The success of our organization hinges on our team. We are made up of individuals who are compassionate, mission driven, and are willing to participate in all of our fundraising and awareness efforts.

If you are interested in joining our team, please fill out the career form, upload your resume and cover letter and we'll follow up with you. Make sure to indicate which position you are applying for.

Open Positions

A-Level Interpreters

Executive Director

Volunteer Opportunities and Internships

We love our volunteers and interns and appreciate their work so much! If you’d like to join us, we have a great office culture where you’ll be welcomed as a valued member of the team.

If you’re interested in individual assignments or group projects  please fill out the volunteer/internship form and we’ll follow up with you. Whether you’re looking for short term, occasional, or regular opportunities, we’re flexible about getting you involved with something that works for you!

Open Positions

Volunteers Photo
Image_AboutSupport@2x