About Us

Founded in 1978, the goal of the Hispanic Center is to provide unmet social services to the Hispanic Community in Greater West Michigan.

Now located in the heart of Roosevelt Park, the largest Latino neighborhood in Grand Rapids, the Hispanic Center is able to directly serve more than 10,000 individuals annually. Not limited to Grand Rapids, we seek to address the needs of Latinos in West Michigan. The staff is largely bilingual and multi-cultural. We understand our Latino neighbors, connect with them, and work to achieve self-sufficiency together.

The Hispanic Center of Western Michigan is a non-profit 501(c) (3) community-based organization.

Our Mission

TO EDUCATE, TO ADVOCATE, TO EMPOWER.

About Us page photo copy

The Team

Bo Photo

Adnoris "Bo" Torres

Puerto Rican
Executive Director
atorres@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 160
F (616) 742-0205

Evelyn Photo

Evelyn Esparza-Gonzalez

Mexican
Director of Finance and Administration
eesparza@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 153
F (616) 742-0205

Eloy Photo

Eloy Baez-Fernandez

Puerto Rican
Language Services Administrative Specialist
ebaez@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 131
F (616) 742-0205

Alva Photo

Alva Favela

Mexican-American
Translations Coordinator
translations@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 131
F (616) 742-0205

Alicia Photo

Alicia Gaitan

Mexican-American
Community Support Coordinator
agaitan@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext
F (616) 742-0205

Marisol Photo

Marisol Garcia

Mexican-American
Administrative Assistant
HCWMReceptionist@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200
F (616) 248-0905

Santiago Photo

Santiago Gayton

Chicano
Project Manager
sgayton@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 124
F (616) 742-0205

Olga Photo

Olga Martínez

Mexican
Human & Civil Rights Advocate
omartinez@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 112
F (616) 742-0205

Ricardo Photo

Ricardo Martinez

Mexican-American
Career Development Specialist
rmartinez@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 123
F (616) 742-0205

Alejandra Photo

Alejandra Meza

Mexican-American
Community Navigation Specialist
ameza@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 113
F (616) 742-0205

Ana Photo

Ana Ortiz

Colombian
CDBG Program Coordinator
aortiz@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 121
F (616) 742-0205

Gris Photo

Griselda Perez

Mexican
Interpretations Coordinator
gperez@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 130
F (616) 742-0205

Lupe Photo

Lupe Perez

Mexican
Assistant to Language Services
interpretations@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 130
F (616) 742-0205

Celeny Photo

Celeny Quintino

Mexican
La Escuelita Assistant Teacher
cquintino@hispanic-center.org

Tracy Photo

Mexican
La Escuelita Teacher Support
tramirez@hispanic-center.org

Tracy Ramirez

Holly Photo

Holly Rea

Italian-French American
Language Services Manager
hrea@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 131
F (616) 742-0205

Daniela Photo

Daniela Rojas-Cortes

Costa Rican
Fund Development and Communications Manager
drojascortes@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 144
F (616) 742-0205

Jocelyne Photo

Jocelyne Romero

Mexican-American
Accounting and Executive Operations Coordinator
jromero@hispanic-center.org
T (616) 742-0200 ext 143
F (616) 742-0205

Daphne Photo

Daphne Windom

African American
La Escuelita Lead Teacher
dwindom@hispanic-center.org

La Escuelita Classroom: (616) 965-9667

Board of Directors

  • Attah Obande Board Chair - Spring GR
  • Patrick Lonergan, Trustee - Fifth Third Bank
  • Karla Amaya-Leone, Trustee - Home Sweet Homes
  • Tony Baker, Trustee - Ferris State University
  • Kristin Ekkens, Trustee -
  • Susan Ledy, Trustee - Retired
  • Monica Steimle-App, Trustee - Rockford Construction
  • Roberto Peña, Trustee
  • Lance Zoerhof, Trustee - Warner Norcross & Judd LLP
  • Jessica Podvin, Treasurer - D.K. Weiss Accounting
  • Mario Castillo, Trustee - Transnation Title Agency
  • Abraham Garcia, Trustee - DTE
Careers Photo

Careers

The success of our organization hinges on our team. We are made up of individuals who are compassionate, mission driven, and are willing to participate in all of our fundraising and awareness efforts.

If you are interested in joining our team, please fill out the career form, upload your resume and cover letter and we'll follow up with you. Make sure to indicate which position you are applying for.

Open Positions

Accountant Assistant

Volunteer Opportunities and Internships

We love our volunteers and interns and appreciate their work so much! If you’d like to join us, we have a great office culture where you’ll be welcomed as a valued member of the team.

If you’re interested in individual assignments or group projects  please fill out the volunteer/internship form and we’ll follow up with you. Whether you’re looking for short term, occasional, or regular opportunities, we’re flexible about getting you involved with something that works for you!

Please contact Daniela Rojas-Cortes drojascortes@hispanic-center.org for  more information.

Open Positions

Volunteer: Data Entry

Volunteer: Storage Unit Cleanout -Nov 23, 2019

Volunteer: Historical Registry

Volunteer: Front Desk (Must be able to speak Spanish & English)

Volunteer:  2019 Community Conversations Sessions (various positions)

Volunteer: Childcare for various events

Volunteer: La Gran Posada: A Christmas Open House

 

 

Volunteers Photo